Getting Started
Log in to Carousel Cloud, then navigate to Configure > Channels
Exporting a Channel
Select the channel you want to export from the channel list, then click the Export Button from the action button row
This will generate and download a .car file. Once the export is finished, your .car file will contain the following elements of the channel:
Name of the channel
Channel layout, resolution, and subscriptions
All zones in the layout with all configuration settings
Full-Screen alert zones to which the channel is subscribed
All templates from all zones
All media from all zones
All bulletins (including upcoming and expired) from all zones
The following elements will not be included as they are configured outside of the channel settings:
External authentications (Exchange, PowerBI, and MDM authentications)
Private templates owned by a specific user in an exported zone will be exported, but only site admins will be able to access them when imported.
Importing a Channel
Navigate to Configure > Channels, then select the Import button
Either browse to or drag and drop the .car file (channel) that you want to import
After the upload and processing is complete, you can name your channel
Channel names must be unique, so rename it if prompted.
By default, the name will be the same as when it was exported.
After choosing a channel name, you will see the following view of all of the zones in the channel. You can change names, edit tags, and choose whether you want to import the active and expired bulletins in the zone, or if you want the zone to start out fresh, with only the templates and media present.
Once the import of the channel is finished, it will appear in the Configure > Channels menu
Duplicating Channels
Navigate to Configure > Channels
Click on the Duplicate button as shown below
Since duplicate channel names are not supported, you will need to set a new name for your channel
After you have entered a new channel name and selected next step, you will be taken to a preview of which zones will be duplicated
By default, your copies will share their zones with the channel that they are coming from
This allows you to use common zones across your channels
If you want a new and unique zone, select the option to Create a new zone for this channel
You will have the option to add a new name for the zone and add/modify its tags
Choose whether you want to duplicate the active and expired bulletins in the zone, or if you want the zone to start out fresh, with only the templates and media present
After you have successfully duplicated your channel, you will be prompted to choose if you would like to do it again or if you are finished. If you want to duplicate again, the changes that you just made are preserved to make it easier to duplicate your channel multiple times.